Brouwer Medal

Luitzen Egbertus Jan Brouwer (1881-1966) was one of the most important Dutch mathematicians. Shortly after Brouwer's death, together with the Koninklijke Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschappen, the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, KWG introduced the Brouwer Medal as prestigious mathematics prize.

Every three years KWG chooses a subfield of mathematics and a special committee selects an internationally prominent researcher from that subfield, who is invited to give a lecture at the Netherlands Mathematical Congress about his/her research. The lecture must be accessible to a broad mathematical audience. After the lecture, the laureate is awarded the Brouwer medal with accompanying certificate. The medal has a great international prestige.


Lees meer

N.G. de Bruijn Prize

Starting in 2016, the N.G. de Bruijn Prize is awarded tri-yearly at the Netherlands Mathematical Congress. The 2016 prize was awarded for the best mathematical work that appeared in a peer reviewed journal in the years 2011 through 2014. The prize is provided by Elsevier, publisher of KWG’s scientific journal Indagationes Mathematicae. Nominees for the prize have either the Dutch nationality, or live in the Netherlands, or are affiliated with a Dutch institute. The laureate receives a medal, a certificate and a cash prize of € 4000. The laureate gives a plenary lecture at the NMC, and the Nieuw Archief voor Wiskunde (NAW) publishes an interview with the laureate or the laureate writes an article himself/herself for a broad mathematical audience, to be published in NAW.

The first laureate of the N.G. de Bruijn Prize was Marius Crainic. The prize was awarded to him at the BeNeLuxMC 2016. At the NMC 2019, the winner of the N.G. de Bruijn Prize was Dion Gijswijt, and in 2022 it was Joris van der Hoeven.



KWG PhD Prize

Each year, four to six pre-selected PhD students are offered the opportunity to present their research at the NMC. A committee selects the winner, who receives the KWG PhD Prize, the successor of the former Philips PhD Prize. The KWG PhD Prize consists of a trophy and a monetary amount.

Lees meer

KWG poster prize

Every year during the Dutch Mathematical Congress, a poster session is organized for all PhD students in Mathematics in the Netherlands. Prior to the poster presentation, each poster presenter introduces their poster in a one-minute pitch presentation during a special plenary session. A committee judges the posters and awards three prizes: €300, €200, and €100 for the best, the second-best and the third-best poster.


Lees meer