Luitzen Egbertus Jan Brouwer (1881-1966) was one of the most important Dutch mathematicians. Shortly after Brouwer's death, together with the Koninklijke Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschappen, the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, KWG instituted the Brouwer prize.

Every three years KWG chooses a field of mathematics and a special committee selects an internationally prominent researcher in that domain, who is invited to give a lecture at the next Netherlands Mathematical Congress about his field accessible to a broad mathematical audience. Afterwards, the laureate is presented the Brouwer medal and accompanying certificate. The medal enjoys great international prestige.

Laureates Brouwer medal

  1970 R. Thom (topology)
  1973 A. Robinson (foundations of mathematics)
  1978 A. Borel (Lie groups)
  1981 H. Kesten (probability)
  1984 J. Moser (analysis)
  1987 Y. Manin (number theory)
  1990 W.M. Wonham (control theory)
  1993 L. Lovász (discrete mathematics)
  1996 W. Hackbusch (numerical analysis)
  1999 G. Lusztig (algebra)
  2002 M. Aizenman (mathematical physics)
  2005 L. Birgé (mathematical statistics)
  2008 P.A. Griffiths (geometry)
  2011 K. Plofker (history)
  2014 John N. Mather (dynamical systems)
  2017 Kenneth A. Ribet (number theory)
Prizes Overzicht